EXLUSIVE: HILDEGARDT WHITES TALKS ABOUT HER MUSIC CAREER, LIFE AS AN ACTRESS AND FUTURE GOALS

Hildegardt Whites (known by her character – Bonita on 7de Laan) was born in a little town called Nieuwoudtville in the enthralling Northern Cape. As a young girl she has always been a fan of the music industry before escalating into the acting industry. She, like any other artist, went through so many auditions before she finally scooped the 7de Laan character.

Currently pregnant with her first born child, that does not keep her from working hard and continue gracing our screens. Hildegardt has proved that hard-work and determination can literally make one’s dreams come through.

I had the privilege to interview such an inspirational woman about her life in general, the life of an actress and most importantly her  music career. This is what she had to say about it:

  1. Who is Hildegardt Whites? What differentiates her from her character – Bonita on 7de Laan?

Hildegardt and Bonita are different in so many ways.  Bonita is tough, strong, shy, an introvert and she doesn’t like to be told what to do.  I am a much softer person than Bonita, and would like to think I’m more of a lady than she is!  Bonita has no style and Hildegardt absolutely loves to dress up.  But I love playing Bonita. 

  1. Most people do not know that you actually sing. Kindly, enlighten me how did your singing career come about? Was it something that you always loved?

I have always loved singing, even as a little girl in church.  I used to be a jazz singer but am now crossing over to the Afrikaans market, currently working on my first full-length album.  This is so different from my acting career.  On television you portray someone else, and with the singing you give people the real you.  

  1. What can you say are some of the most complex challenges that you have encountered in the industry?

I think not being yourself and compromising.  When you are in this type of industry it is so easy to lose yourself.  It is crucial to stay true to yourself from the very start, and not change for anything or anyone. 

  1. What have been your greatest achievements throughout your journey and how has the experience been?

I would say being on 7de Laan is definitely one of my biggest achievements thus far, and also having my own show now on Via TV called “Hilde se Hartsklanke”.

  1. What can you say inspires you when writing a song?

Nothing inspires me more than life itself.  As I’ve mentioned earlier, music is what reflects the real you, and to be authentic in your art you need to source from a place that is just as real, and that is the life you are living. 

  1. Who can you say inspires you on a daily basis? Should it be in regards to your singing or acting career?

Definitely my mother.  She is such a strong and phenomenal lady, always there for me.  Her support and motivation with regards to my acting and singing career have always been unconditional. 

  1. TRICK QUESTION: Music or Acting? Why do you love the chosen field?

I can’t choose.  I have a very special place for both genres in my heart.  It is like trying to separate something that is an integral part of your DNA:  impossible. 

  1. What are your plans for the fall of 2017? Anything in the pipeline as of yet?

So much is happening that I unfortunately can’t talk about.  Well, not yet in any case.  But, as you all know I am pregnant with my first baby, due in May 2017.  My husband and I are super excited about the arrival of our firstborn and literally can’t wait any longer for this little miracle to arrive.  And then of course the release of my first Afrikaans album!  Yeah!

  1. Any concrete advice that you can give to upcoming artists?

Work, work, work super hard.  Be prepared to give it your all as talent will only get you so far.  Take any opportunity no matter how small it might seem.  Believe in yourself and never give up. 

You can connect with Hildegardt on her social media platforms:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/hildegardt1

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Hildegardt-Whites

Here is the a video of I am gonna be (500  miles) cover by Hildegardt on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GE0BR22wKCw

 

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said,

people will forget what you did,

but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

–  Maya Angelou

One thought on “EXLUSIVE: HILDEGARDT WHITES TALKS ABOUT HER MUSIC CAREER, LIFE AS AN ACTRESS AND FUTURE GOALS

  1. Hilda you are a really big inspiration for me… The way u went with your new album ; uplifting the humble of heart; the people that was with u in the music videos are people thats near to the heart of God(humble); oh man u are just a lovely kindhearted woman of God.im a huge fan.God bless you Hilda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

